Post Happy Christmas

26/12/2015 § Leave a comment


This year was not the same as the last.

First, I did not go to Bukit Panjang for Christmas where I have celebrated it almost every ear without fail, except this year apparently. I could not help it. They were not in the house on the eve, and probably on the very day either.IN exchange, they invited me to come over for New Year’s which just so happens to be convenient to my every tight schedule.

Secondly, it was my first Christmas actually spent full time in Reception. I did not know how busy they actually are, but granted that we did not hit a hundred percent this year, it was probably better than last year’s. It was however, still busy. For the past week that I have been doing morning shift, it’s been pretty quiet between seven to ten in the morning. After I come back from my much deserved lunch break, it will start to be a mess. Until the end of my shift that I still have to stay for an hour or two because I need to finish attending to the guests and check my transactions. I don’t really mind, except when I am already off duty and hidden in the safety of the back office, and my colleagues would still look for me because the guest either wanted to speak only to me, or because I blocked the room for the guest but did not really see the guest. I wanna ask them, “what will you do if I am already out of the hotel? Will you call me and ask me to come back just because the guest wanted to speak only to me?” And I will definitely fill that with as much sarcasm and ill-intent I could muster with a smiling face.

Honestly, it did not feel like Christmas at all. I did go out for dinner with my friends though, and got really drunk on 23rd, and had a hang over on 24th when it was apparently busy. It wasn’t a terrible hangover that I can’t even stand up without having to puke, but the mild kind where there is just a feeling of slight dizziness. And the food wasn’t exactly Christmas eve-y too….

It’s the next year next week, and to sum up my year, it’s been one whole year of greatness, fun and travelling. I hope next year will be just as fun, and maybe more fulfilling too.

Tagged: , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Post Happy Christmas at The Turtle Trail.

meta

