AO3

28/09/2015 § Leave a comment


I stumbled across this gem of a website dedicated for aspiring writers. It’s a place where they can share their creative minds to the entire world. And here I was, a fan of reading who knows her limits yet opt to settle for the worst end of the stick, and decides to deal with whatever consequences she came across later. Yep, I read until I lack sleep.

Archive of Our Own is basically a site for fan-fiction of various stuff. Mostly fiction based on another fiction of the original creator. Yeah, how does the world of fiction even get to have an alternate universe, right? Well, because we all have creative minds. And the site contains several talented writers too. I was into the site for about a month now and I only read stories based on Shingeki no Kyojin/ Attack on Titan, and man, did I read a lot already. The problem with me is that I get too hooked, addicted and obsess over things that suddenly ticked my interest. And it was in a bad way. Recently, I tend to sleep in the morning, getting just a couple hours sleep, not even more than four, all because of a stimulated brain caused by intensive reading. Who am I to blame? No one but myself.

It will go on until my interest slowly died down. And I feel like I am getting there soon, unless I came across an effin’ awesome writer who tickled my fancy of course. Well, that would be another story then. I was in the same situation when I discovered Wattpad before. And back then, it was real bad as compared to now. How? I do not stop reading, even at work since it was still plausible then, when riding the bus which probably worsen my eyesight, and I do nothing but fiddle on my phone and read. Heck, I even knew that I looked like a creep while holding back a laughter or a squeal then. It was oh so bad I was surprised i did not end up in some kind of accident back then. It was the same when I got too hooked with LM Montgomery’s Anne Series. I read all five books continuously in less than two weeks, and I was working then too.

Eventually though I regained my lost rationality and stopped being the dumb fangirl that I sometimes am. Well, I’m sorry for extremely valuing my interests, and leisure time. Even now, I still haven’t gotten over all the overtime I did because if I could claim all those hours back, I could probably take a month off from work now. Oh well, money’s gonna be making its way to my pocket in a few days. My boss just gotta make sure I was happy with those figures. I still owed number two a cup of coffee though.

I’ll be at Ho Chi Minh City on 4th October. So far, the city is the first that I will be revisiting. Being there for barely ten hours for my first visit doesn’t really count as enjoying the city right? I’ll only be there for a 3D2N holiday though, but of course I’m gonna be making the most out of it. I arranged meeting there with a friend a month or two ago but I did not make any bookings until the other day. Bottom line, it was yet another random whim of mine. And I have no plans at all besides cafe hopping and visiting rooftop bars. I’ll definitely see more of the city at night too, given that it actually has pretty good infrastructural sights to offer. At least, I’m pretty sure that I would be spending less than what I would have if I stayed in Singapore and went shopping on random. I need to save up every cent I could for my Japan Trip two months from now. And I still need a Visa.

That’s it. Ciao!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading AO3 at The Turtle Trail.

meta

