Kitchen Miscellany: Orange Chicken

24/03/2015 § Leave a comment


I decided to try making this dish because I have too much oranges than I know what to do with. I have a flu and a terrible cold so I thought I needed lots of Vitamin C, so I bought lots of oranges. I also have coughing fits then so my boss told me to stop with the oranges, which I obediently followed. When I got better, I don’t know what to to with the oranges left. So I thought, why not make a dish out of it.

Back in school we made Poulet L’orange one time, which is basically roasted chicken with orange sauce, or in orange sauce. I don’t quite remember it perfectly but I really liked the taste of it back then. As much as I wanted to make that, I don’t have the proper tools for it. So, I tried searching for how I can use orange and chicken together in a different way. Then I found a dish which I remember having tried before. It’s a Chinese style orange chicken dish.

Honestly, this dish is still in the process of improvement but I really liked it’s tangy flavor with a little spice. The first time I tried it, I did not put any garlic or ginger, so it’s only sweet and tangy, which also tasted good. But, that’s it. Only sweet and tangy. So I thought why not try to add garlic, which I did on my second try. I added ginger on my third try, which satisfied my palate more than the first try.

image

Ingredients:
Chicken (I like to use chicken breast)
Soy Sauce
Flour, or Starch
Garlic, crushed and minced, separate
Ginger, minced
Orange, 1-2
Orange zest, finely chopped
Honey, or sugar
Salt
Pepper
Oil

Procedure:
1. Mix soy sauce, crushed garlic, and pepper in a bowl, to use as a marinate. I always add in lime whenever I marinate meat. Cut the chicken meat into cubes, or small pieces, and put in the soy sauce mixture. Set aside. The longer the meat sits on the marinate, the more flavorful it will become. So take your time and do something else first.
2. After marinating the chicken meat, use flour or starch to dust it. It’s only to keep the oil from going everywhere when you add in the meat into it.
3. Heat oil, enough to fry the chicken meat. Cook until the color turned brown. Once done cooking, place in a kitchen napkin so as to absorb much of the oil.
4. Cut the oranges in halves and squeeze out the juice. Add honey, or sugar, and mix well.
5. Heat a little beat of oil, and add minced garlic and ginger. Sautee until it becomes aromatic. Add in the finely chopped orange zests. Then, add the orange juice mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste, and let it simmer for a while.
6. Add in the fried chicken meat, and cook until the orange juice mixture thickens. Remove from heat, garnish with orange slices and spring onions (optional), and serve.

I enjoy this with rice as it is Asian’s main staple.

I’m sorry that there aren’t any measurements once again. I always cook for a single serving so, if you’re a good cook, you can manage, I think. I really don’t follow a proper measurements when cooking so…enjoy the experiment. 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kitchen Miscellany: Orange Chicken at The Turtle Trail.

meta

