Donburi

11/01/2015 § 2 Comments


Because I feel so happy about my katsudon, I feel like sharing my recipe. It was not exactly my own original recipe per se, but something I found online and modified to make it my own. Once again, I do not exactly follow a proper recipe whenever I cook, and I try to make everything I cook cheap and easy. It’s only for single serving by the way.

Ingredients:

Japanese Short Grain or Sushi Rice, 1 cup(I sometimes use normal rice but just be informed that it will be loose as compared to sushi rice)

Pork Loin Steaks, cut into 1cm thick

Flour (just enough to properly coat the pork)

Egg, 1 (make it two if you like more egg into the rice bowl)

Bread crumbs (enough to properly coat the pork)

Cooking Oil (enough to shallow fry the pork)

Chicken Stock, 1/3cup

Soy sauce, 1Tablespoon

Sugar, 1Tablespoon

Salt

Pepper

Onion, sliced (this adds flavor to the sauce so I usually put more of it)

Procedure:

1. Wash the rice. If you wanted to go for the Sushi style rice, wash the rice several times to make it absorb the water prior to cooking. You can also let the rice soak in the water for a few minutes before cooking it. (I learned this when I actually made sushi rice.) Then, cook as per normal without adding more water than necessary.

2. Prepare the stock mixture. Mix Chicken stock, soy sauce and sugar together. Set aside for use later. The measurement for this is actually for more than one serving, because I like the rice bowl saucy. I also keep the stock mixture in the fridge for later use.

3. Prepare the pork. It should be thawed and not frozen. It will give you a hard time cooking it if it was frozen, speaking from experience. Placed the pork between baking sheets, and roll a pin over it. This process makes the pork more tender and flatter, while the baking sheet absorbs the water from it.

Season the pork with salt and pepper. Properly coat the pork slices with flour, then egg, then bread crumbs. Press the bread crumbs firmly into the pork, and make sure that it is properly coated.

4. Cook the pork. Heat enough cooking oil to shallow fry the pork. At least make sure that the cooking oil will reach half of the pork, or beyond that. I usually put the pork when the oil is already very hot. Fry until it turned into a nice brown color. Put the pork on top of rice.

For a more juicy and tender pork, when you cut the pork, the center should still be of a slight pink color. You can see the juices oozing out when you pressed it. Do not cut the pork into slices immediately because it will dry out while you cook the sauce. It’s still hot so it will still continue to cook on its own even after putting out of the heat.

5. Cook the sauce. Heat 1tbsp of cooking oil. I use the same one I cooked the pork with. Saute the onion slices. Add stock mixture (just enough for the serving you’re making), season with salt and pepper, and cook until it boils. Turn off the heat and immediately add the egg. Stir a little but do not wait for the egg to cook. Pour the sauce over the pork.

I usually remove some of the onions from the pan after sauteing it a little, and place them between the pork and rice. My friend likes raw onions, so I cut more onions for her and place it between the hot rice and pork. The onion adds that certain sweet flavor to the sauce too.

 

 

There you have my Katsudon recipe. Change the pork into chicken for Oyakodon, and follow the same procedure. Chicken just cooks faster than pork so just watch out for how long you keep the chicken in that hot oil. And for a more proper recipe here’s the link to the recipe I use as a base. I am happy with how I cook my katsu/oyakodon now, but my palette is still looking to add more flavor to it.

Once I managed to make a proper sushi rice and Inari Sushi, I will share how I make it as well.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Donburi

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Donburi at The Turtle Trail.

meta

