Against Monotony: Digital Fashion Week

03/11/2014 § Leave a comment


An activity filled day!

I specifically took leave on 1st November. Back then, I only expected to have the first half of my day occupied and I am free to do whatever I like by afternoon. Well, things do not always turn out as planned so I had my entire day occupied in the end.
image

I signed up for a The Body Shop Singapore organized make-up class with Lan Nguyen. When I decided to register for the event I was only thinking of having something worthwhile to spend time with. Registration comes with a door gift worth over thirty dollars, and a chance to get free passes for the Digital Fashion Week 2014. The make-up class itself only costs me forty dollars, as I am a The Body Shop Singapore member, so I thought that it was worth the money. In the end I got more than what I expected.
image

image

Let me clear some things first. First, I am not a very fashionable person who likes to buy branded bags, or classy shoes, or fuss about people with prominent names in the entertainment or fashion lines, whether local or international. I do not own lots of high heels, heck I do not even wear them, or fancy dresses, or the clothing styles that are ‘in’. I buy clothes, most of the time, when there is a sale going on, and most of my clothes were ones that are comfortable to wear and easy to move around. Second, I am not a person who has a very good make-up skills and skin care routine, as can be seen through my dark undereye circles and messy eyebrows (thanks to my lifestyle). But I like make-ups, and how I can do just about anything with them. I try to own the ones that worked nicely with my skin, and ones that I can use for occassions or just for my everyday. I even watch videos about  make-up style tutorials, for make-up and skin care techniques. I do not, however, like to fuss about expensive brand name stuff, even with make-up. If I like a certain make-up brand, especially if it is suited fairly well with my skin, I like it and I try to own it. It is as simple as that.

image

This is not exactly the first make-up class that I have attended. I was able to attend a make-up class provided and organized by Mary Kay. Their products were really good and effective, at least for my skin. It was a bit pricey though, but make-up and skin care products normally are anyway. So technically this The Body Shop make-up class is the second one, that was actually organized by a reknowned name in the beauty products, that I get to attend. And this time, it is done by an internationally reknowned person who even came from London – Lan Nguyen. At first I was not even aware of the person who will be conducting the make-up class. But then, during the event itself, the host mentioned how prominent she is in the beauty and fashion industry. Well, why am I not shock? Lan Nguyen is also the head make-up artist fo the Singapore Digital Fashion Week 2014, which is a big event in Singapore for clothing lines, fashion-oriented brand names, and fashion in general. Please do check her website: lan-makeup.com and instagram: @lanslondon. She got some amazing stuff there.

image

The make-up class was helpful to me in someways. I am basically versed in the make-up techniques and routines, but Lan demonstrated some techniques that are new to me. And I was really happy that I get to attend the make-up class because it was very knowledgeable. It was a simple make-up class that only took about and hour, then she had to leave for the preparations for the Digital Fashion Week, so we were not able to ask and know more about how she does make-up. But there were The Body Shop make-up artists around as well, geared with different kinds of brushes, who will be providing free consultations and make-over on the spot. And by the way, the person that was made to be the model for the make-up class was Ashley, a blogger together with Samantha. You can check their website at samantha-ashley.com and learn more about beauty and fashion in their perspective.

image

After the make-up class, there was another activity organized by The Body Shop together with Operation Overhaul. It is a simple crafting project in relation to the new The Body Shop line of products – Glazed Apple. So we were provided with a kit to make a coaster in the shape of an apple. Since this is my thing I pretty much displayed my skill, and I would say that some were fond of my artwork.
image

The event was very successful but it was too bad that I did not give a try for the make-over that is provided. For door gift, we were given a gift set of White Musk, containing a mini bottles of shower gel, lotion, and eau de toilet, and a mini bath lily, and an evelope of discount vouchers, which unfortunately are to be used on the same day in only one outlet – The Body Shop Raffles City. So I went there after the event, and of course, the other participants in the make-up class were also there. Well, since there were some pretty nice discounts given to us, I had decided to shop for some items that I am running out of stock, and to give away as gifts too. And of course, I made sure to get myself a few items for their new product line, Glazed Apple. I was really looking forward to using the body butter, and shower gel. Actually, I just feel like getting everything in the same product line. The scent was fruity and sweet, and it was giving the vibrant Christmas vibe. Ther3 is no doubt thay the products themselves were definitely good to use.

image

That was the first half of my day. I spent the second half at the National Design Center for the Digital Fashion Week 2014. Yes, I got a pair of passes to attend two shows: Singapore Fashion Design Schools Show and Mash-Up Show. I invited my friend, Pia, who was working in the design industry, thinking it might be of some use to her job.

It is my first time participating in the Digital Fashion Week so I had no idea what to expect. And when I came to the venue with my friend, we were definitely underdressed. I kind of assume that it would be a fashion show event, but I have not even attended one before, so I am totally clueless. At least I dressed up a little more nicely than my usualy shorts or jeans and random top clothing. Otherwise, I would have felt an extreme inferiority with all the people dressed in different kinds of bizarre manner. By ‘bizarre’ I mean the good kind for fashion line.
image

image

There was a small reception area after the registration desk. Cocktails were also provided by Reyka Vodka, a sponsor of the Digital Fashion Week 2014. I did not give a pass for the free cocktails, of course, even though I have not eaten properly prior to that. I tried two different kinds of cocktails that they serve – a fruity one garnished with tiny flowers, and a cinnamon bark garnished sweet and spicy drink. I liked the first one and I wished I asked what it was made of.
image

image

The first event was a fashion show put up by Raffles Design Institute, NAFA, and La Salle College of Arts. The designers were basically students of the schools. I really don’t know what to expect at the show, I do not even know when to clap, but the clothes that have been worn by the models varied from high end fashion to classy but wearable street outfits. I really enjoyed the show and there were some dresses that I am very fond of. The show started a little late actually but it did not even bother me. It was supposed to be a 1530-1630hrs show but it ended at 1700hrs. I was very excited to have been given a front row seat as well, all thanks to The Body Shop Singapore for the invite. But being seated in the front seat means that you are someone with a name from some company with a name, which I am not and I realized that too late. So there was a girl seating beside me and introduced herself as ‘Sherry from (company name thay I did not pick up)’. That was the time that I realized how lucky I am to be in the front row seats, and how troublesome it was to be seated separately from my friend.
image

image

image

image

The second show that we attended, however, put me in such bad mood. It was a fashion show by Mash-Up, a Singapore brand clothing line which started a few years back. What was so bad about the show? I would not really blame the organizers but the event was completely delayed. It was supposed to be scheduled at 1745-1845hrs, but the show only started at 1900hrs. We waited longer than we were seated to watch the fashion show which only lasted a few minutes. The clothing line were mostly fun and artistically designed clothing that you could wear while walking around the streets. You usually get high-end-you-can-only-wear-it-to-classy-parties kind of collection for fashion shows but this clothing line displayed an assortment of street-slash-casual but fashionable clothes. I was relieved when the announcement was made saying that the show was finished because I was completely hungry by then.
image

As it is a big fashion event in Singapore, there were also prominent names in the fashion industry, both local and international, that were present in the event. Well, I really do not know them but I expect that most of the people seated in the front seat was someone prominent. For example, in front of me were a group of fashion bloggers from different countries who made names in the fashion industry. It could be very overwhelming for people who have been fashion-oriented to be present at the event, and it only made me realize how wasted the free passes were for me.

image

Another fun thing about the fashion event is the fact that it is a fashion event. That means you can dress-to-impress or show your personality through the clothes you wear. And I happen to see two girls who wear very colorful outfits. I have my eye on a girl wearing pink anime printed top, light pink shorts, white net high stockings and black platform shoes. She has dark make-up on and I particularly like the dark red to brownish lip color she has. And her hair is tied up into high twin buns. The other girl who is wearing a similar outfit as her has her hair up into triple buns. They were very eye-catching and several people arr taking their photos. I really wish I had brought my DSLR camera with me then.

I brought my friend to Modesto’s restaurant at Orchard Parade Hotel for dinner. I was craving for pizza and spinach pasta for a while now so I got her to eat it with me. The first time that I tried eating there was when my other friends invited me. I would not even dare try a vegetarian pasta by myself, but I was glad I got to taste it. Anyway, Pia and I ordered a regular sized bolognese pizza and a spinach cannelloni thinking that the two dishes were enough for two young ladies without getting very full. We were wrong. We only ordered two dishes but we still got very full finishing it. Fortunately we did not order any other side dishes, which I was thinking of doing when we placed our order. Having a nice decent meal was a good way to end my day off from work isn’t it?

image

image

I have uploaded videos of the fashion show to my Instagram account: @thestreetcat. I only have three videos of the fashion show when there are four collections in total, so I have uploaded the photos in my Flickr account (I finally updated it after such a long time!) and here’s the link: Singapore Digital Fashion Week 2014. I really thought that the photo’s quality with not be as good as viewed from my phone but luckily it was not affected. I really wonder why the image quality drastically changes when I upload photos I took using my phone into WordPress.

(Updated: 08 November 2014)

02nd November 2014
All photos were taken using Samsung Galaxy Note II

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Against Monotony: Digital Fashion Week at The Turtle Trail.

meta

