Cosfest XII

27/07/2013 § Leave a comment


Cosfest Event (Indoor Stage)

This is my first time attending the Cosfest event. This is on a smaller scale as compared to the Anime Festival Asia and on a slightly bigger one than EOY. Still, this event is just as good and the cosplayers were on a different level as well.

Cosfest Asia XII was held last 6th and 7th of July at D’Marquee, Downtown East Mall in Pasir Ris. I believe it’s always being held there. It was my first time attending the event and thus I was kinda excited. The weather was just perfect too – clear weekend afternoons, although it drizzled a little on Sunday.

I find the event to be on a smaller scale as compared to the last two cosplay events that I’ve been too. I’m actually talking about the number of cosplayers who have attended the event. There were lots of them but not as much as the AFA’s and EOY’s.  Even so there were still cosplayers who were really good.

Cosfest Event

The event venue was also small. There was a booth for the Collectible cards with a really long line of people dividing the place into two. I didn’t bother finding out what these CosCards are although I see people exchanging cards with another. By the glimpse I caught of the cards, it contained photos of cosplays.

While strolling around the venue for two days, I saw some people wearing different outfits for the two-day cosplay event, and some wearing the same. As I have observed, the cosplays I saw were mostly characters that made history. There were several familiar characters as well as ones I don’t know. Some characters are from animes that even I had already forgotten. It gives me the old-school vibe and it’s kind of nostalgic. The love for anime is definitely for all ages.

On Saturday, the first day of the event, there weren’t much cosplays that would make me go “Wow!” with a matching whistle. There were fantastic cosplays but not so much. Most of the amazing cosplays were found on Sunday. I am just grateful that I went on both days.

A set of characters from Card Captor Sakura

A set of characters from Card Captor Sakura

So, there was a set of Cardcaptor Sakura characters. It was kinda amazing because the clothes and make up and accessories were so great. The best one was The Hope card in human form. This card only appeared in the Cardcaptor Sakura second movie, The Sealed Card. She was even brought outside in the grass field for photoshoot. Many photographers are complimenting her cosplay. The cosplays for Eriol Hiiragizawa, Spinel Sun and Ruby Moon characters were also great. My favorite, though, was The Twins card in human form.  They were just so adorable!

The Hope from Card Captor Sakura

The Hope from Card Captor Sakura

Spinel Sun, Eriol Hiiragizawa, and Ruby Moon from Card Captor Sakura

Spinel Sun, Eriol Hiiragizawa, and Ruby Moon from Card Captor Sakura

The Twins from Card Captor Sakura

The Twins from Card Captor Sakura

Just to mention, other charcters that were cosplayed were Sakura and Shaoran (of course!), Tomoyo, Meilin, Yukito, Toya, Cerberus (though in human form), Yue, The Shadow, The Snow, The Dark, The Light, The Power, The Little, The Flower, The Rain, The Watery, The Voice, The Song, The Earthy, and The Mirror. There were lots of them, right? It’s really amazing to see the set. Too bad I didn’t get to take photos of the whole group because some came in later.

The Light and The Dark The Mirror The Little Meiling Li The Rain The Song and The Voice

I went to the event with the expectation of seeing at least one Lance Corporal Rivaille cosplay. I became a fan of Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titans after reading the manga. I am particularly fond of Rivaille. Luckily, there is one Rivaille cosplay, and only one. It wasn’t that great but it’s also good. I kinda hope to find a lot of  characters from SNK but I only found a few. There was a Mikasa, Sasha, Armin (and the cosplay’s really good too), Annie, and Eren (of course!). There’s also a Hanji but I didn’t get to take a photo which is too bad.

Lance Corporal Rivaille from Shingeki no Kyojin

Lance Corporal Rivaille from Shingeki no Kyojin

Mikasa Ackerman from Shingeki no Kyojin

Mikasa Ackerman from Shingeki no Kyojin

Annie Leonhardt from Shingeki no Kyojin

Annie Leonhardt from Shingeki no Kyojin

Sasha Braus, Armin Arlert, Eren Jaeger from Shingeki no Kyojin

Sasha Braus, Armin Arlert, Eren Jaeger from Shingeki no Kyojin

I actually saw an almost perfect cosplay for Jean but as only a glimpse. I looked for the character everywhere but I just couldn’t find the cosplayer. Then I found out later that the cosplayer for the Jean character I saw was actually Reika who is an international cosplayer from Japan. I saw her on stage! I kinda regretted not taking a snap shot of the character upon seeing it. It was really great! Now I wouldn’t wonder why international cosplayers are known.

Chacraters from hit animes are also there, like from One Piece, Naruto, Fairy Tail, Beelzebub, Bleach, K! and Katekyo Hitman Reborn. I’m sorry for naming only animes that I know of. One Piece is kind of a given. I mean, for the last AFA and EOY events, there were several One Piece characters scattered about the venue that they actually formed a set. This time, for the Cosfest, there just weren’t much. Still, there was a Luffy, Zoro, Nami, Sanji, Brook, Robin, and even Crocodile and Mr. Two (Bentham/Bon Kurei). Too bad that I didn’t see any Trafalgar Law character, my favorite. The cosplay for Rayleigh was great too!

Kiba and Naruto from Naruto

Kiba and Naruto from Naruto

Sasuke and Naruto from Naruto

Sasuke and Naruto from Naruto

Silvers Rayleigh from One Piece

Silvers Rayleigh from One Piece

Similar with One Piece, Bleach, Fairy Tail and Katekyo Hitman Reborn characters were not that much this time as compared to AFA and EOY. Naruto characters, however, are slightly on the upper hand. There was a Naruto, Sasuke, Sakura, Kakashi, Kiba, Gaara, Temari and etc. Perhaps I only noticed the Naruto characters this time because I find the cosplays amazing.

Hildegarde from Beelzebub

Hildegarde from Beelzebub

Erza Scarlet from Fairy Tail

Erza Scarlet from Fairy Tail

I said earlier that the cosplay event kinda gives off the old-school vibe. Cardcaptor Sakura characters was one. There were also characters like a twin Shaoran (the cosplayers are twins too and the idea is too cute), Princess Sakura and Princess Tomoyo from Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles; Kai and Ray from Beyblade (I acutally have to search for their names ’cause I’ve already forgotten); Kenshin and the others from Rurouni Kenshin (this anime is just undying); and even characters from Dragonball Z (now that’s hitory, yeah?). There were also characters from Vampire Knight but I just don’t know them. I never watched the anime nor read the manga hence my familiarity is beyond zero.

Kenshin Himura from Rurounin Kenshin

Kenshin Himura from Rurounin Kenshin

Vampire Knight

Vampire Knight

I am not a big anime geek but I love these cosplay events because it’s colorful. Furthermore, where else could you find people willing to be photographed while wearing out-of-the-norm clothes and accessories? That being said, there were several characters  that I don’t know, not even the anime they came from. Even though I get the feeling that it’s  huge hit anime. But the fact that the cosplay is amazing doesn’t change.

 IMG_0885 01 IMG_0993 01 The Hope Princess Tomoyo and Princess Sakura Neko Tomoe and Akura-Ou Reisi Munakata Misaki YataIMG_1198 01 IMG_0985 01   

IMG_1045 IMG_0913  IMG_0891 01 IMG_0932 01 IMG_0914 01 IMG_1030 IMG_1117 IMG_1165IMG_0925 01 IMG_1037    IMG_1079 IMG_1082 IMG_1036 

By the way, even though how sexy the cosplayers are or how very similar the costumes and make-ups are, cuteness will still win the heart of most people. This little one is just so adorable and her cuteness is just too much to be ignored.

IMG_1056 IMG_1062

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cosfest XII at The Turtle Trail.

meta

