The Orange Thimble

23/05/2013 § Leave a comment


09.04.2013

I decided to visit The Orange Thimble in Tiong Bahru area because I find its name cute. The tagline of the cafe was ‘cafe meets art’ which for me is very interesting since I like artsy stuff.

I actually thought that the weather will be cloudy for the whole of the day. While waiting for the bus however it started raining heavily. Surprisingly though, it didn’t last for an hour. And I reached the cafe just slightly wet.

image

Design . It was suppossed to be a place where cafe meets art. I would say that the tagline was shown in the cafe design.

image

image

The cafe looks small from the outside but they actually have a lot of seats available further inside. And you wouldn’t just go in a straight line. Like a gallery or museum, you have to make turns. They also have a non-airconditioned part which was located in the innermost part of the cafe. Whether it was a smoking area or not, I didn’t bother asking. I believe though that it was not.

image

image

The cafe was very artistic in every sense. They have decorated every wall with artworks from various artist. I loved every nook of the cafe. Especially the non-airconditioned area. There were plants in that area and a red brick wall. Of course, there are also artsy posters in that part. The most eye catching one though was the car door creatively painted and displayed amongst the plants.

image

image

Another part that I love was the 2nd quarters of the cafe. It was chic and simple and girly. I believe that ladies would love to be seated in that part. The walls, painted white, were simply decorated with framed artworks that were arranged neatly. There was a sofa and a coffee table and 2 other separate tables. And that’s it. But i can’t help to like that part. It was just pretty.

image

image

There was a shelf upon entering the cafe which contains magazines and books and art-related advertisements. It was messy when I visited the cafe but I will suggest to rummage a little among the pile. There were some interesting books to check there.

image

image

The cafe in general was modern and chic. It has a cozy and warm atmosphere. I’ll take the liberty to say that it was like a gallery turned cafe instead of a cafe infused with arts.

image

image

The plain white walls were decorated neatly maintaining simplicity and artworks were hanged on every wall but that was not offsetting. Like being in the gallery, you might have the urge to look into every artwork available in the whole cafe. They were not paintings by Picasso or other famous european artists, and not even replicas of their works. The artworks were creations of local artists. I don’t have much knowledge about the art industry but I think that the artists featured in the cafe have made name for themselves. Every now and then, they also have artwork displays for a certain period for certain artists. Now, that’s really like a gallery.

image

Coffee and Pastry . The cafe was serving a variety of food items from light snacks to heavy meals. I was pretty much surprised to see that they also have a number of chocolates. I was actually tempted to try at least one but I managed to hold myself.

image

image

The pastry selection wasn’t so bad. The presentation was appetizing and I had a hard time deciding what to take. I have a limited budget for my coffee adventures for the note.   I ordered a slice of cheesecake with crumble top and a cappuccino. Both are good but not exactly outstanding.

image

The cappuccino was not full-bodied but it was good. The milk and foam were not so thick and creamy. Even so, it helps to lighten the bitterness of the coffee. By the way, I got a bear latte art. I call it the angry bear because the brows were crunched close to each other.

image

The cheesecake was sumptuous. It was presented with a appetizing look. It was only a simpe cheesecake topped with crumbles. The latter added crunchiness and flavour to the cheesecake. I had a friend who told me that cheesecakes usually taste a little sour. I later realized that was really the case. The Orange Thimble’s cheesecake has a mild sour taste but more to being sweet and creamy.

Service. The service staffs looked snobbish but they were actually accommodating once you approach them.

image

As usual, it was my first time going to the cafe which seemed obvious to them. They answered to my inquiries with kindness. They were always behind the counter so it’s pretty much easy to spot them and to approach them.

Whereabouts. The Orange Thimble. 56 Eng Hoon Street.

image

The cafe is located in a  commercial area around a residential area. It wasn’t easy to spot from the main road since the cafe is situated in one of the inner streets.

From Tiong Bahru Road: The nearest bus stop was Blk 55 catering to bus service numbers 5, 16, 33, 63, 75, 123, 175, 195, 195A,  851 and 970. Coming from the bus stop, you just have to pass by through the alley right by the bus stop. That will bring you to Eng Hoon Street and by turning left, you can already see the cafe.

From Outram Road: YWCA Outram Centre bus stop is pretty close by catering to bus service numbers 33, 63, 75, 851 and 970. Coming from this stop though, you will have to walk a short distance to reach the cafe.

The cafe is located in between Tiong Bahru (East-West Line) and Outram Park (East-West Line/North-East Line)

image

image

image

image

image

image

[All photos were taken using Samsung Galaxy Note II.]


Check out my other blogs too – My Sketch Pad and The Turtle Trail. Look at my photo collection Tears of Iris. And follow me on twitter @callecat for personal updates.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Orange Thimble at The Turtle Trail.

meta

